Fortnite servers are going down after The Big Bang live event, but when will the game come back online with Chapter 5?

After an incredible month of revisiting the past, Fortnite OG has come to an end, culminating in an incredible live event.

Now, the Battle Royale’s servers are down for maintenance but how long will the downtime last?

When Will Servers Come Back Online?

Fortnite servers came back online with Chapter 5 on December 3, 2023 at around 5:30 AM PT / 8:30 AM ET / 1:30 PM GMT.

Fortnite Servers Are LIVE!

As expected, the outage did fit the recent trend of servers coming back online after downtimes:

  • Chapter 4 Season 2 downtime concluded at 4:30 AM PT / 7:30 AM ET / 12:30 PM GMT
  • Chapter 4 Season 3 downtime concluded at 4:00 AM PT / 7:00 AM ET / 12:00 PM GMT
  • Chapter 4 Season 4 downtime concluded at 5:00 AM PT / 8:00 AM ET / 13:00 PM GMT
  • Fortnite OG downtime concluded at 6:00 AM PT / 9:00 AM ET / 2:00 PM GMT
Eminem During the Big Bang Fortnite Live Event

Chapter 5 Downtime Explained

Although Fortnite initially had major downtime periods between Chapters, that server outage period has drastically reduced with each new Chapter.

The most recent downtime between Chapter 3 and 4 wasn’t much longer than a standard seasonal downtime.

EventSeasonDowntime
The BlackoutEnd of Chapter 136 Hours
Drift to ArtemisEnd of Chapter 218 Hours
Stare At AsteriaEnd of Chapter 39 Hours
To Be Continued!End of Chapter 4Unknown

And while we don’t expect the time between Chapters to continue to decrease, we don’t think it’ll ever go back to the 36 hours we saw after Chapter 1.

That said, Fortnite OG did just return to Chapter 1, so it’s not impossible that Epic Games will have another major downtime in our near future.

author
Managing Editor
Max has a wealth of experience in the industry and is a lover of all things video games, situated in Manchester, United Kingdom.
Chapter 5 Season 1
95.76324%
4d : 1h : 28m : 39s