Walking Wake is returning to Pokemon Scarlet Tera Raid Battles over the holiday season.

Here’s how to take on the powerful Paradox Pokemon, and what counters you should bring to the fight!

For those that missed Walking Wake the first time around, the Suicune-adjacent Pokemon is finally back. But you can only catch Walking Wake once – so if you caught it the first time it came to Raid Battles then you’re out of luck!

Walking Wake Tera Raid Battle Dates

Walking Wake will return to Pokemon Scarlet Tera Raid Battles on December 24, 2023 at 4 PM PT / 7 PM ET, which corresponds to December 25, 2023 at 12 AM GMT.

The Paradox Pokemon will arrive in Tera Raid Battles in .

The Tera Raid Battle event will conclude on January 7, 2024 at 3:59 PM PT / 6:59 PM ET / 11:59 PM GMT.

Walking Wake Paradox Pokemon

That means that players will have just under two weeks to get their hands on the special Paradox Pokemon. And thankfully, you won’t have much of a grind to look forward to, as Walking Wake can only be caught once.

The Pokemon will be exclusive to Pokemon Scarlet Tera Raid Battles, but it can be traded to trainers on Violet.

Pokemon Violet trainers can also be invited to Tera Raids that take place in Pokemon Scarlet, allowing them a chance to catch Walking Wake for themselves.

Walking Wake Type & Weakness

Walking Wake is a Water/Dragon-Type with a Water Tera Type.

As such, while Terastalized for the Raid Battle, it is weak to Grass and Electric-Type attacks. However it will take reduced damage from Steel, Fire, Water, and Ice-Type attacks.

It uses the following moves in its Tera Raid Battle encounter:

  • Hydro Steam
  • Dragon Pulse
  • Noble Roar
  • Flamethrower
  • Sunny Day

You won’t want to counter the Walking Wake with a Grass-Type Pokemon, thanks to the Raid Boss’ Sunny Day-boosted Flamethrower.

Instead, Electric-Types are your best bet at taking down the Paradox Pokemon.

Best Counters to Walking Wake

The best Pokemon to counter Walking Wake is Iron Hands, thanks to its incredible power and Fighting/Electric typing.

Many long-term Raid Battlers will already have this powerful Pokemon on their team, thanks to its enormous Raid potential.

Iron Hands in Pokemon Scarlet

We recommend using Electric Terrain to trigger its Quark Drive ability, and then using Belly Drum to set up a boosted Thunder Punch.

Another solid choice to take on Walking Wake is Miraidon, the box Legendary of Pokemon Violet. Both of these Pokemon are exclusive to Violet, so Scarlet owners will need to trade to get Walking Wakes best counters.

Miraidon in Pokemon Violet

For those who don’t fancy trading, some other great counters for Walking Wake include:

  • Bellibolt
  • Azumarill
  • Annihilape

All Raid Rewards

Besides a one-time chance to catch Walking Wake, the following rewards will also drop at random after completing the Raid Battle:

  • Ability Capsule
  • Big Pearl
  • Bottle Cap
  • Health Feather
  • Naive Mint
  • Nugget
  • Pearl String
  • PP Up
  • Rare Candy
  • Tamato Berry
  • Water Tera Shard
  • XP Candy L / XL

Players can farm the other rewards as much as they like, but Walking Wake itself can only be caught a single time.

As we mentioned above, if you’ve already caught Walking Wake via a Raid Battle the last time it was in rotation, you won’t be eligible to catch it again this time around.

author
Managing Editor
Max has a wealth of experience in the industry and is a lover of all things video games, situated in Manchester, United Kingdom.