Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is a brand new game starring Cal Kestis but is it a sequel, a prequel, or unrelated to Jedi: Fallen Order?

Thankfully there’s a straightforward and simple answer to this question.

Is Star Wars Jedi: Survivor a Sequel?

Yes, Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is a sequel to the 2019 title Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order.

The new release is set 5 years after the original game, meaning that Cal Kestis has had time to become an accomplished force user in his time battling the Empire.

In fact, those who know their Star Wars will likely know that Jedi: Survivor takes place in a very interesting point on the Star Wars timeline!

Jedi: Survivor will have an entirely new story for both new and returning players to enjoy. However, many characters such as Cere Junda, Greez Dritus, and of course Cal and BD-1 will appear.

Star Wars Jedi Survivor vs Fallen Order
Cal Kestis in Jedi: Fallen Order (Left) and Survivor (Right)

Do You Have to Play Jedi: Fallen Order Before Survivor?

No, EA has confirmed that you don’t need to have played Jedi: Fallen Order in order to play and enjoy Star Wars Jedi: Survivor.

Each of the two games is a standalone title, and no progress will transfer over from Fallen Order to Survivor.

What’s more, Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will have an entirely new story for all players to experience, with no prior knowledge required.

Cal Kestis Lightsaber in Jedi Survivor

That said, a number of characters will return and Fallen Order gives us an excellent look into Cal Kestis’ time as a Padawan in the Jedi Order, training under Jedi Master Jaro Tapal.

Those fans that want to learn more about the protagonist’s backstory might want to experience the events of the first game before hopping into Jedi: Survivor, but doing so is certainly not required.

The good news is that Jedi: Fallen Order is currently on Xbox Game Pass Ultimate. But will Star Wars Jedi: Survivor also be coming to Game Pass?