Skip to Content

Pokemon S&V: Salamence & Tyranitar Tera Raid Battle Event – Start & End Dates

Following up on the first event for Eevee in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet, Salamence and Tyranitar are having their own Tera Raid Battle event.

Players will have to face off against these version-exclusive dual-type Pokemon hiding in Tera Raid Battle crystals across Paldea in Pokemon Scarlet and Pokmon Violet.

If you want to get your hands on one of these iconic Pokemon, everything you need to know to prepare for the Tera Raid Battles is below.

What Is the Salamence and Tyranitar Tera Raid Battle Event?

The Salamence and Tyranitar Event is a three-day event in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet, where players can engage Salamence in Violet or Tyranitar in Scarlet in four and five-star Tera Raid Battles around Paldea.

During the event, Tyranitar will spawn in crystals in Pokemon Scarlet and Salamence in Pokemon Violet with randomized Tera-types.

  • 4-Star Tera Raid Battles unlock after beating seven Gym Leaders.
  • 5-Star Tera Raids Battles only unlock after beating all three storylines and reaching the credits.

But if you are just starting one of the games, you have quite a bit of catch-up. To begin, read up on Tera-types and Terastralizing and follow our best Gym order guide to fast-track your playthrough.

Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Trailer Shows Terastallize Mechanic

When Does the Salamence and Tyranitar Tera Raid Battle Event Start and End?

The Salamence and Tyranitar Tera Raid Battle begins at midnight on December 9 and ends right before midnight on December 11 UTC. Here’s when the event will begin in your time zone:

Look below to find out when the event is happening in your time zone.

  • Start – Friday, December 9, 2022
    • 4 p.m. PST (December 8)
    • 5 p.m. MST (December 8)
    • 6 p.m. CST (December 8)
    • 7 p.m. EST (December 8)
    • 12 a.m. UTC
    • 11 a.m. AEDT
  • End – Sunday, December 11, 2022
    • 3:59 p.m. PST
    • 4:59 p.m. MST
    • 5:59 p.m. CST
    • 6:59 p.m. EST
    • 11:59 p.m. UTC
    • 10:59 a.m. AEDT (December 12)

How To Find Salamence or Tyranitar in the Tera Raid Battle Event

Salamence, a Violet exclusive, and Tyranitar, a Scarlet exclusive, spawn in Tera crystals you can find randomly outside of towns in Paldea. From there, simply go up to one, press “A,” choose an appropriate Pokemon and get ready to fight.

By looking at your map and looking for the glowing crystal icons, you can tell the difference between regular Tera Raid Battle crystals and special event crystals.

However, if wish to encounter Pokemon not native to your version of the game, you will have to visit a friend’s world if they have the other version.

A tera battle raid crystal icon.
Here Is a Normal Raid Crystal Icon. It Would Flash or Glow if It Were an Event Crystal.
  • Search locations outside towns for crystals, or check your map for flashing/glowing crystals.
    • Open your map with the “Y” button and press the “A” button to set a waypoint.
  • Once you find a crystal go up to it and press “A.”
  • If it has 4 stars, indicated by the star icons, send in Pokemon at least Level 45 or above.
  • If it has 5 stars, send in Pokemon at least Level 55 or above.

What Are the Stats of Salamence and Tyranitar?

Salamence and Tyranitar have higher average base stats in Attack and HP, but Salamence has the lower Defense stat in exchange for higher Sp. Atk.

Salamence’s stats generally work better in offensive high-damage strategies, while Tyranitar is tankier and can take some hits if its weaknesses aren’t targeted.

Salamence Stats

Salamence in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet
StatAverage Base StatRange at LVL 50Range at LVL 100
HP95155 – 202300 – 394
Attack135126 – 205247 – 405
Defense8076 – 145148 – 284
Sp. Atk110103 – 178202 – 350
Sp. Def8076 – 145148 – 284
Speed10094 – 167184 – 328

Tyranitar Stats

Tyranitar in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet
StatsAverage Base StatRange at LVL 50Range at LVL 100
HP100160 – 207310 – 404
Attack134125 – 204245 – 403
Defense110103 – 178202 – 350
Sp. Atk9590 – 161175 – 317
Sp. Def10094 – 167184 – 328
Speed6159 – 124114 – 243

Salamence and Tyranitar Resistances and Weaknesses

Salamence, when not Terastallized, is a Dragon and Flying-type, weak to Rock, Ice, Dragon, and Fairy-type moves but is resistant to Fighting, Bug, Fire, Water, and Grass-type moves.

Tyranitar, when not Terastallized, is a Rock and Dark-type, weak to Fighting, Ground, Bug, Steel, Water, Grass, and Fairy-type moves and resistant to Normal, Flying, Poison, Ghost, Fire, and Dark-type moves.

  • However, it is important to note that when fighting a Tera Raid Battle, the weaknesses and resistances of the Pokemon depend on its Tera-type listed in the icon in the top right.
  • So for Salamence or Tyranitar, it will differ by each crystal you approach.
Tera Raid Battle Screen in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet.
This is a Fighting Tera-type.

After capturing one, and when not Terastallized, get a grasp on either Pokemon’s resistances and weaknesses below.

SalamenceTyranitar
Weaknesses (Double Damage)Rock, Dragon, and FairyGround, Bug, Steel, Water, Grass, and Fairy
Weakness (Quadruple Damage)IceFighting
Resistances (Halved Damage)Fighting, Bug, Fire, and Water Normal, Flying, Poison, Ghost, Fire, and Dark
Resistances (Quartered Damage)GrassNone
ImmuneGroundPsychic
Tinkaton Details in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet
Tinkaton, as Fairy and Steel-type. A Good Option Against a Non-terastallized Version of either Pokemon.

In addition to the Salamence and Tyranitar Tera Raid Battles, Game Freak has a new round of Charizard Black Tera Raid Battles coming our way.

To prepare for those 7-Star Tera Raid Battles, you’ll need an effective Pokemon to take it down.

Share your thoughts, or ask a question:
Comments 0

Recommended