Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch Servers Down: Maintenance Scheduled for January 7th, 2020

Nintendo seems to be preparing for something.
Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

As the third anniversary of the Switch console draws even closer, Nintendo has scheduled a maintenance break for all services. The Nintendo Switch has continued to achieve great success in the past few months, but now players are going to have the step away from the console for just a short while.

During the maintenance, all online services will be down. This includes things like the eShop to even just online play in general.

Nintendo Switch Maintenance Schedule – Dates/Times

Players can expect to see the Nintendo Switch servers down at the following dates and times. There’s a chance that the maintenance will last a little longer than expected, although that hasn’t been confirmed.

  • START: January 6, 8:30pm PT / Jan. 7 at 4:30am GMT or 1:30pm JST.
  • END: Jan. 6, 10:30pm PT / Jan. 7 at 6:30am GMT or 3:30pm JST.

This marks the first maintenance break of the new decade. With the last taking place over a month ago, this will presumably help resolve any recent issues or problems on the platform.

Nintendo Switch Servers Down - Maintenance

Nintendo has confirmed that the maintenance is taking place in order to prepare a future update. However, it’s unclear as to whether this update will be version 9.2.0 or 10.0.0. Although many have speculated it to be 10.0, 9.2.0 still seems the most likely option of the two.

READ MORE: Fan Project Merges Pokemon Into the World of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

There’s usually a few month gap between the release of each major firmware update, so it’s still very possible. 10.0 will likely introduce a plethora of new changes to the user interface, whereas a system update will probably consist of just a few bugs and tweaks.

Nintendo has also remained tight-lipped regarding their upcoming plans, but now might be the time to reveal new information. All evidence points towards the existence of a Nintendo Direct later this month, and a new update would tie in nicely with that.

You can keep an eye out for when the Nintendo Switch servers come back online via the official network status page.

Co-Founder and Editor at Gaming INTEL. He has over five years of experience when it comes to writing about video games. In his spare time, he also enjoys to play them, particularly first-person shooters such as Call of Duty or tactical Battle Royale games. Dan provides cutting-edge news on the latest titles to date.

Write A Comment