Skip to Content

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play Confirmed for 2023

Treyarch has confirmed that they are currently working on bringing Ranked Play to Modern Warfare 2 in 2023.

Ranked Play has become widely popular in almost every first-person shooter in gaming. Players like to test their skills and work to obtain the highest rank possible.

Now, Call of Duty has confirmed that it’s also coming to MW2. Here’s everything we know so far.

MW2 Ranked Play Release Date Speculation

Ranked Play is officially coming to Modern Warfare 2 in 2023. Unfortunately, Call of Duty hasn’t confirmed a specific release date for this mode, but we expect it to launch in early 2023 based on the release dates of Ranked Play for Vanguard (February 17, 2022) and Black Ops Cold War (March 22, 2021).

When it fully launches in 2023, Ranked Play will include the following:

  • Competitive Modes
  • Ranked Skill Divisions
  • Top 250 Leaderboard
  • Visible Skill Ratings
  • Competitive Rewards

Who is Developing Ranked Play in Modern Warfare 2?

Treyarch is the developer in charge of Ranked Play for Modern Warfare 2, and is the only developer curating this mode. Treyarch has previously developed Ranked Play in Call of Duty Vanguard and League Play in Black Ops Cold War, so they already have experience with this mode.

Infinity Ward is in charge of the base multiplayer and Warzone 2.0, so it makes sense that they’d have their hands full with that for the time being.

Treyarch Retiring Ranked Play in Vanguard & Cold War

In other news, Treyarch has also announced that Black Ops Cold War League Play and Vanguard Ranked Play will be disabled in November as they work on Ranked Play for Modern Warfare 2. Players have until November 22 to collect their remaining rewards for both titles.

Before the launch of MW2 Ranked Play, competitive fans will be able to play the CDL Moshpit Playlist that’s coming at the start of Season 1 on November 16. More details will be revealed on this closer to launch.

How Does Ranked Play Work in MW2?

Ranked Play is a 4 v 4 mode with the authentic Call of Duty League Ruleset in Modern Warfare 2, where players can play competitive modes that separate them into different Ranked Skill Divisions.

Players fight to showcase their skills, and if they perform well, they’ll rise through the different rank divisions. It’s the highest level of competition MW2 players can participate in without actually being in the Call of Duty League.

Treyarch has yet to announce the official names of the Ranked Skill Divisions, but Call of Duty leaker Vanguard Intel has potentially revealed what they might be:

What is the CDL Ruleset?

The CDL Ruleset is composed of the official settings, maps, game modes, and weapons currently being used by professional players in the Call of Duty League.

You can view a complete and updated breakdown of everything here – CDL Current Ruleset

Ranked Play Skill Divisions & Skill Ratings Explained

Treyarch has not revealed how Ranked Skill Divisions and Skill Ratings will work in MW2. Although, we can obtain a solid understanding by looking at how they functioned in Vanguard.

How to Earn a Higher Skill Rating & Progress Skill Divisions

Your Visible Skill Rating (SR) would change with each match. If you won a game, your Skill Rating increased. But if you lost or disconnected from a match, your Skill Rating would decrease.

Kills and objectives could also affect your SR but not nearly as much as winning or losing. Earning SR would progress you through 8 different Skill Divisions.

Here were the different Skill Divisions in Vanguard:

  1. Contender
  2. Specialist
  3. Advanced
  4. Expert
  5. Elite
  6. Master
  7. Challenger
  8. Top 250

Here is the official video from Call of Duty Vanguard explaining all the details:

Treyarch originally introduced Ranked Play as League Play in Black Ops Cold War. They later renamed it to Ranked Play in Call of Duty Vanguard.

Will The Ladder System Return in MW2?

Treyarch has not mentioned if Ladder Events would be returning in Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play. Although, there was no mention of it in their announcement tweet that included what Ranked Play’s features will be.

The Ladder system was an in-game Ranked Play event where players could earn stars by participating in Ladder Events.

The higher your placement in these events the more stars you would earn. More stars meant a higher Player Rank in the Ladder System.

It was separate from the Skill Rating and did not affect your Skill Division in the slightest.

With such a competitive mode, you’ll need to make sure you know what the current best meta weapons in Modern Warfare 2 are!

Share your thoughts, or ask a question:
Comments 0