The next free access trial for MW2 Multiplayer will be available from September 13, 2023, at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST until September 20, 2023, at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST.

However, in-game play will only be limited to 2.5 hours. This is the first free trial that has limited playtime.

The last MW2 Multiplayer free access trial was available from June 22, 2023, at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST.

This event stretched across five days and ended on June 26, 2023 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST.

Once the event is over, you can no longer access MW2 Multiplayer unless you purchase the game or wait for the next trial.

How to Download the MW2 Free Access Trial

To play the MW2 Free Access Trial, you will need to do the following:

  • Search for ‘Modern Warfare II Free Access’ on your Console Store, and if on PC, check the “Play Free” button on Steam or Battlenet.
  • Download the game
    • If you can’t find the download, you can follow these direct links:
    • These links will be updated when the listing is found in the store
      • PS4/5
      • Xbox
      • Steam
      • Battlenet
  • Once downloaded, load up the game and select MP Trail Mosh Pit to play!

Read More: How to Get Colorful Bullets in MW2 & Warzone 2

What Can I Play in the MW2 Free Access Trial?

In the free access trial, players will have 12 MW2 maps they can play on.

The 12 maps you can access are:

  • Dome
  • Embassy
  • Farm 18
  • Vondel Waterfront
  • Mercado Las Almas
  • Shipment
  • Shoothouse
  • DRC – Zone 1
  • Punta Mar
  • Strike
  • Guijarro (Battle Map)
  • Al Malik International (Battle Map)

And players will also have access to 11 modes in the trial as well:

  • Team Deathmatch (Core & Hardcore)
  • Kill Confirmed (Core & Hardcore)
  • Domination (Core & Hardcore)
  • Hardpoint (Core & Hardcore)
  • Grind (Core & Hardcore)
  • Gun Game
  • Infected
  • Havoc
  • Ground War
  • Invasion
  • Search & Destroy

The available modes from the last free access trial were playable in 1st and 3rd person format. Ground War and Invasion will only be playable on the Guijarro and Al Malik International.

Season 5 Free Trial

Can I Play With Friends on the Free MW2 Trial?

Yes, you can play with friends on the MW2 free trial. However, you can only play in the designated playlists. For the last free trial this included:

  • Showdown 24/7
  • Shipment 24/7
  • 6v6 MP Moshpit
  • Search & Destroy
  • HC Shipment 24/7
  • Third Person Moshpit
  • Party Modes
  • Ground War/Invasion Moshpit

Will My Free Access Progress Carry Over If I Buy the Full Game?

Yes, all progress on the free trial will carry over if you decide to purchase the full MW2 game. It will also carry over to Warzone 2.

Additionally, any unlocks you get that are part of the MW3 carry forward feature will transfer to Modern Warfare 3 as well.

author
Staff Writer
Scott is a passionate writer, who has now combined two of his favorite things - video games and journalism.