Mounts are an important feature in Hogwarts Legacy. They are creatures or objects which allow players to travel around and explore the map in style, with speed.

Hogwarts Legacy has 4 unique mounts:

  1. Hippogriffs (Flying)
  2. Thestrals (Flying)
  3. Graphorns (Ground)
  4. Broomsticks (Flying)

Each one can be summoned and mounted whenever you need a boost of speed, or the ability to take to the skies.

Exploring the beautiful world of Hogwarts Legacy is one of the game’s many highlights and the best way to experience it is with a mount.

The Harry Potter game’s world looks beautiful from the air, but to experience it you’ll need to learn how to get your hands on some Fantastic Beasts.

Check out which is Hogwarts Legacy’s fastest mount, and how to speed it up!


Type: Flying Mount

How to Unlock: Complete the Main Story Mission ‘The High Keep

As revealed in some of the first images ever released for Hogwarts Legacy, Hippogriffs are fully rideable in Hogwarts Legacy.

White Hippogriff Mount Highwing Hogwarts Legacy

In the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, these proud creatures need to respect a Witch or Wizard before a Hippogriff will even consider allowing them to ride around on their backs.

Here’s how to unlock Highwing, the White Hippogriff mount in Hogwarts Legacy!

Onyx Hippogriff

Type: Flying Mount

How to Unlock: Pre-Order Hogwarts Legacy & Complete ‘The High Keep

Aside from Highwing, there’s one other Hippogriff that players can mount in Hogwarts Legacy, but it’s a little tricky to get your hands on nowadays.

Black Hippogriff Mount Caligo Hogwarts Legacy

By pre-ordering Hogwarts Legacy prior to its February 10 release date and finishing the main quest ‘The High Keep’, players can also get their hands on Caligo, the Onyx Hippogriff mount in Hogwarts Legacy!

PS4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch players can still unlock this Black Hippogriff by pre-ordering the Harry Potter game before it launches on their platform. But next-gen or PC players may be forever out of luck if they’ve already missed out.


Type: Flying Mount

How to Unlock: Purchase Dark Arts Pack DLC (Included in Deluxe & Collector’s Editions) & Complete ‘The High Keep

Creatures that are fully invisible to the naked eye (unless that eye has seen a person’s death) Thestrals are also rideable in Hogwarts Legacy! Our protagonist is witness to a dragon attack at the beginning of the game, thus allowing them to see the Fantastic Beasts in all their haunting beauty.

What’s more, those who purchase the Hogwarts Legacy Deluxe or Collector’s Edition can even unlock and ride the Thestral mount, Sepulchria.

Thestral Mount Sepulchira Hogwarts Legacy

Alternatively, Standard Edition owners can purchase the Dark Arts Pack to unlock the Thestral mount for themselves.

It’s worth noting that Thestrals can still be captured using a Grab Bag in the wild, but only Dark Arts Pack owners will be able to ride their new catch.

Once the story mission ‘The High Keep’ has been completed, Sepulchria will become available for players to ride.


Type: Ground Mount

How to Unlock: Complete the Main Story Mission ‘San Bakar’s Trial

Graphorns have been mentioned in many pieces of Harry Potter media but it wasn’t until Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them that we saw one in the flesh.

How to Unlock Graphorn Mount in Hogwarts Legacy

These ginormous beasts were said to be the favored mounts of Mountain Trolls, but now they’re also available for Witches and Wizards to ride.

To get a Graphorn of your very own in Hogwarts Legacy, you’ll need to complete the main story quest San Bakar’s Trial. Here’s a full guide on how to catch a Graphorn in Hogwarts Legacy.


Type: Flying Mount

How to Unlock: Complete the Flying Class mission, then purchase from Spintwitches Sporting Needs in Hogsmeade

Finally, Hogwarts Legacy’s last mount is the tried-and-tested Broomstick. This is the game’s only non-living mount, and it’s the one that players will be able to get hold of the soonest.

Hogwarts Legacy Broom Flight

Here’s where to get a Broom in Hogwarts Legacy and soar through the air for the first time.

Once you’ve got a Broom of your own, you’ll also be able to upgrade it several times until its acceleration and speed its maxed out. Here’s how to fully upgrade your Broom in Hogwarts Legacy!

How to Ride Mounts in Hogwarts Legacy

To ride your equipped mount in Hogwarts Legacy, first open the tool wheel and then press its corresponding button:

  • PlayStation: L1 + Square / Triangle / Circle
  • Xbox: LB + X / Y / B
  • PC: Tab + 1 / 2 / 3

The mounts will then have the following controls:

  • Take Off: X / A
  • Move: L Stick
  • Fast Flight: L3 / R2 / RT
  • Charge (Graphorn): R2 / RT
  • Dismount: O / B

Read More: The 5 Biggest Issues With Hogwarts Legacy

How to Change Mounts in Hogwarts Legacy

To change your equipped mount in Hogwarts Legacy, press the Options/Menu button and go to the Gear Page.

There, you can select Flying Mount and change your equipped Fantastic Beast to any one of your collected mounts, if you have more than one available.

However, the Graphorn will always be available, with no need to swap it out. This is because it is the only ground mount available in the Harry Potter game.

And while there are several Brooms to choose from, your current Broomstick will always be available in the tool wheel.

Need More Help With Hogwarts Legacy? Check Out These Handy Guides!

Managing Editor
Max has a wealth of experience in the industry and is a lover of all things video games, situated in Manchester, United Kingdom.