Nintendo is hosting a The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom launch stream just hours before the full game releases on May 12.

Fortunately for fans eagerly anticipating the latest Legend of Zelda title, the launch stream will showcase new gameplay footage. Here are the start times, how to watch it, and what to expect.

When Is the Tears of the Kingdom Pre-Launch Stream?

The Tears of the Kingdom pre-launch stream begins on Thursday, May 11, 2023. You can tune into the stream at the following times across the globe:

  • 6:45 PM PT
  • 9:45 PM ET
  • 7:45 PM MT
  • 2:45 AM BST (May 12)

That means the livestream will commence in .

This will be around 2 hours and 15 minutes before the game launches in the US. However, depending on your region, TOTK may have been playable for some time before the launch stream even begins.

Of course, if you’re using the New Zealand trick, you could be playing Tears of the Kingdom almost a whole day before it launches elsewhere.

How to Watch the Tears of the Kingdom Launch Stream

You can watch the Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom launch stream via the official Nintendo website. When it’s time to tune in, make sure to click this link to head straight to the stream.

It is currently unclear if Nintendo will also stream it via their Twitch or YouTube accounts. However, to save you the trouble of searching for them, here are links to both:

We will update this article if Nintendo announces these platforms as viable ways to watch the stream. Nevertheless, it might be worth checking them out on the day just to make sure.

Link stood in front of a floating ship in Tears of the Kingdom

What to Expect From the Tears of the Kingdom Launch Stream

You can expect to see four separate Nintendo Treehouse segments featuring never before seen gameplay from Tears of the Kingdom.

Once the Treehouse segments have finished, there will be more content to watch as the stream counts down to the launch of TOTK. However, Nintendo has not specified what this content includes.

This was confirmed via their official Twitter account in the tweet below:

For those who don’t know, Nintendo Treehouse is a translation and QA testing division of Nintendo that rose to popularity thanks to their E3 2014 gameplay livestream.

Since then, they’ve done the occasional stream showcasing gameplay from upcoming releases.

In this instance, they’re demonstrating Tears of the Kingdom’s unique features, likely including the brand-new Fuse mechanic and changes to the weapon durability system!

author
Former Staff Writer
Whether it's an indie platformer or a 100-hour JRPG, Tom loves talking about games. So much so, he made it his career. Since starting in 2020, he's covered a wide range of topics at sites including TheGamer and The Game Crater.