To unlock flying mounts in Hogwarts Legacy, you must first complete the main story mission, The High Keep.

Completing The High Keep, will unlock the Hippogriff Highwing for everyone. Meanwhile, players who pre-ordered Hogwarts Legacy will also unlock the black Hippogriff, Caligo.

Additionally, buying the Deluxe or Collector’s Edition, or the Dark Arts Pack will unlock Sepulchria, the Thestral.

If you want to fly in Hogwarts Legacy, there’s a way to do it before you unlock a Hippogriff. Here’s how to unlock the broom in Hogwarts Legacy!

The High Keep Quest Complete Hogwarts Legacy

How Many Flying Mounts are in Hogwarts Legacy?

Witches and wizards can unlock three different flying mounts in Hogwarts Legacy, two Hippogriffs, and one Thestral. They are:

However, Highwing is the only flying mount that is available to every Hogwarts Legacy player. Caligo and Sepulchria are locked as a pre-order bonus and DLC purchase, respectively.

How to Unlock White Hippogriff Mount – Highwing

To unlock Highwing, the white Hippogriff, as a flying Mount in Hogwarts Legacy, you must complete the main quest, The High Keep.

After finishing this, you can summon Highwing whenever you are roaming the vast open world of Hogwarts Legacy!

White Hippogriff Mount Highwing Hogwarts Legacy

How to Unlock Black Hippogriff Mount – Caligo

To unlock the black Hippogriff mount, Caligo, in Hogwarts Legacy, you must have pre-ordered the game before its release date on February 10, 2023. Then, you will need to finish the main quest, The High Keep.

Currently, there is no other way of unlocking the Onyx Hippogriff. This means if you didn’t pre-order Hogwarts Legacy, you’re out of luck.

Black Hippogriff Mount Caligo Hogwarts Legacy

How to Unlock Thestral Mount – Sepulchria

The Thestral mount, Sepulchria, is exclusive to Hogwarts Legacy players who have bought the Deluxe or Collector’s Edition of the game, as it contains the Dark Arts Pack, or have purchased the Dark Arts Pack separately.

Like the other mounts, you must complete The High Keep before you can use in in-game.

The Dark Arts Pack can be purchased for $19.99 / £17.99 from the PlayStation Store, Microsoft Store, or Steam.

Thestral Mount Sepulchira Hogwarts Legacy

How to Equip & Summon Flying Mounts in Hogwarts Legacy

To equip a flying mount in Hogwarts Legacy, you must select one from your gear page.

Then, while in the open world, you can summon your selected flying mount using the following button combination:

  • PlayStation: L1 + Triangle
  • Xbox: LB + Y
  • PC: Tab + 2

Luckily, flying these fantastic beasts is pretty simple. After all, they use the same controls as the broom!

What Flying Mount is Best in Hogwarts Legacy?

There is no ‘best’ flying mount. This is because Highwing, Caligo, and Sepulchria all travel at the same speed and handle exactly the same.

Therefore, you should use whichever one of the flying mounts you like the look of the most.

Now that you know how to unlock a flying mount, you’ll be able to fly between locations quickly. There’s nothing stopping you from completing all of Merlin Trials in Hogwarts Legacy!

Or you could set off and collect all of the Demiguise statues in the game!

Senior Staff Writer
Django grew up with a PlayStation controller in his hands and loves all kinds of games, from Football Manager to Yakuza.