Skip to Content

How to Play Splatoon 3 Splatfest Demo- Everything You Should Know

The Splatoon 3 Splatfest Demo will allow players to get a taste of the game’s newly updated modes and multiplayer features.

Players will also be able to try out a brand new mode, but to do so; they’ll need to pick one of three different teams.

But this Splatoon 3 Demo will only be available for a short time. Thankfully, here is everything you need to know about the Splatfest Demo and how you can participate!

Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere

Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere Demo Start Time

The Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere Demo featuring the regular two-team multiplayer experience will go live on August 27 at the following times:

  • 9 AM PST – Los Angeles
  • 10 AM MDT – Denver
  • 11 AM CDT – Chicago
  • 12 PM ET – New York
  • 5 PM BST – London

Splatfest Tricolor Turf War Battles Demo Start Time

Players will be able to try out the new Tricolor Turf War Battles multiplayer mode, which features a 4v2v2 formula, on August 27 at the following times:

  • 3 PM PST – Los Angeles
  • 4 PM MDT – Denver
  • 5 PM CDT – Chicago
  • 6 PM ET – New York
  • 11 PM BST – London

This new multiplayer mode looks to bring something new to the Inkling world of Splatoon, shaking things up for long-time fans.

Splatoon 3 Splatfest End Date & Time

The Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere will be a 12-hour event that will run from 9 AM PST to 9 PM PST, featuring separated time slots for each game mode.

The Splatfest Battles featuring two teams against each other will end at the following times:

  • 3 PM PST – Los Angeles
  • 4 PM MDT – Denver
  • 5 PM CDT – Chicago
  • 6 PM ET – New York
  • 11 PM BST – London

While the Tricolor Turf War Battles demo will end at:

  • 9 PM PST – Los Angeles
  • 10 PM MDT – Denver
  • 11 PM CDT – Chicago
  • Next Day, 12 AM ET – New York
  • Next Day, 5 AM BST – London

This time slot situation means players won’t be able to play both modes during the same time periods.

So players will have a total of twelve hours to get their hands on Splatoon 3 and see just how much the gameplay has changed. This will also give players plenty of time to test out the new Tricolor Turf War Battles.

Splatoon 3 Splatfest

How to Download Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere

Players will be able to download the Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere Demo from the Nintendo eShop following these steps:

  • On your Nintendo Switch, head to the Nintendo eShop.
  • The Featured Tab will be the first thing that pops up.
  • From the Featured Tab at the very top will ‘Splatoon 3’ & ‘Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere Demo’.
  • Click on the ‘Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere Demo’ and then choose ‘Free Pre-Order,’ and the download should begin.

Alternatively, if you have your account tied to your My Nintendo Account, you can also queue the download from a web browser:

  • Make sure you’re logged into your My Nintendo Account.
  • Head to the official My Nintendo Shop page for the Splatoon 3 Splatfest World Premiere here.
  • Click ‘Free Download.’
  • The next time you connect your Nintendo Switch to the internet, it will begin to download the demo automatically.

Players will need to have an active Nintendo Switch Online subscription to access the demo.

You’ll be able to access the demo immediately to play the tutorial, walk around Splatsville ahead of the Splatfest World Premiere, and choose the team they will be representing.

Players looking to pre-order Splatoon 3 should do so soon to obtain all the available pre-order bonuses.

What Game Modes Will Be Playable in the Splatfest Demo?

Gamers will be able to play the Splatfest Battles and Tricolor Turf War Battles game modes during the Splatoon 3 Spaltfest World Premiere Demo.

  • Turf War:
    • In Turf War, two teams of four battle it out and try to cover as much of the stage as possible. Players can eliminate each other to slow the enemy team’s progress.
    • The team that has the most paint on the stage wins!
  • Tricolor Turf War Battles:
    • Tricolor Turf War Battle is an all-new Splatoon 3 mode that will follow a similar style to Turf War but feature a 4v2v2 playstyle. This will ensure there every game you play is fun and chaotic.

Nintendo has yet to confirm how many of the 12 different Splatoon 3 stages we’ll be seeing during the Spaltfest.

Which Team to Choose in Splatfest

There is no real benefit to choosing one team over the other. It’s entirely up to you. Whichever team you choose will be who you represent for the entirety of the Splatfest.

Players will be able to choose between three teams in the Tricolor Turf War Battles, including Team Rock, Team Paper, and Team Scissors.

Once you’ve made your choice, you will not be able to change it again. You’ll also get a unique in-game shirt to represent your team during the event.

How to Choose Team in Splatoon 3 Splatfest

Players will be able to choose a team in Spaltoon 3 Splatfest at the Splatfest Booth by following these steps:

  • Head into the Splaton 3 Splatfest World Premiere on your Nintendo Switch.
  • Once you load into the hub world, turn around. The Splatfest Booth will be right behind you.
  • Interact with the Splatfest Booth by pressing ‘A,’ and you’ll bring up the Team Selection screen.
  • Hover over the team that you want to choose and press ‘A.’
  • Lock in your choice by pressing ‘A’ again!

Now you’ll officially have your team for the Splatfest!

Splatoon 3 Splatfest Teams

Share your thoughts, or ask a question:
Comments 0
Recommended