Skip to Content

God of War Ragnarok Release Time & How to Play Early

If you’re as impatient as us, you may want to find out the exact release time of God of War Ragnarok and how to play it early, but it may be difficult.

Kratos and Atreus are back, with the sequel to the critically-acclaimed God of War releasing very soon – and we will finally be able to play it.

For those of us who are more excited than others, you may be wondering if there’s any trick to get access before others. While there is, it can be a bit tedious to perform and could cost you more money.

God of War Ragnarok Unlock Time – When Does It Come Out?

God of War Ragnarok will be playable at midnight local time on Wednesday, November 9. This means it will be available in New Zealand before anywhere else.

The only exception is North America, where it’ll release everywhere once it hits midnight on the East Coast – meaning for those on the West Coast, it’ll launch at 9pm on Tuesday, November 8.

God of War Ragnarok will unlock at the following times:

Tuesday, November 8:

  • 🇺🇸 9 PM PT
  • 🇺🇸 10 PM MT
  • 🇺🇸 11 PM CT

Wednesday, November 9:

  • 🇨🇦 12 AM (Midnight) ET
  • 🇺🇸 12 AM (Midnight) ET
  • 🇧🇷 12 AM (Midnight) BRT
  • 🇬🇧 12 AM (Midnight) GMT
  • 🇸🇪 12 AM (Midnight) CEST
  • 🇩🇪 12 AM (Midnight) CEST
  • 🇰🇷 12 AM (Midnight) KST
  • 🇯🇵 12 AM (Midnight) JST
  • 🇦🇺 12 AM (Midnight) AEDT
  • 🇳🇿 12 AM (Midnight) NZDT

God of War Ragnarok Countdown – Time Until Release on PS4 & PS5

Time ZoneCountdown
NZDT (New Zealand)
AEDT (Australia)
CET (Europe)
GMT (London)
ET (New York)
CT (Illinois)
MT (Colorado)
PT (California)

Read More: Is GameStop Doing a Midnight Release for God of War Ragnarok?

How to Get Early Access to God of War Ragnarok (New Zealand Trick)

Here’s how you can play God of War Ragnarok as early as possible:

  • Head to the PlayStation NZ site
  • Click or tap ‘Sign In’ at the top right of the screen
  • Press the ‘Create New Account’ button
  • Add all of your details, using a different email from your normal PS and set the location to New Zealand
    • If you need some New Zealand address details, here is an example:
    • Street: 91 Tom Ayers Drive
    • City: Pines Beach
    • Area: Kaiapoi
    • Zip Code: 7630
  • Find a reputable seller of PlayStation NZ wallet cards
  • Purchase PSN Wallet Cards in the amount necessary
    • Standard Edition (PS4) – $124.95 NZD
    • Standard Edition (PS5) – $139.95 NZD
    • Digital Deluxe Edition (PS4/5) – $159.95 NZD
  • Log in to your NZ PSN account on your console
  • Redeem the wallet codes in the PlayStation Store
    • PS5: Go to Settings, then User and Accounts. Select Account, then Payment & Subscriptions, then Redeem Code.
    • PS4: Go to the PlayStation Store, and scroll down the sidebar until you find Redeem Code.
  • Purchase God of War Ragnarok
God of War Ragnarok Kratos Atreus

It’s worth noting that this trick isn’t worth doing if you have already purchased God of War Ragnarok. You’ll only be able to access the game slightly earlier than your own region.

You won’t need PlayStation Plus to complete this trick. And unless you really want to, you won’t have to pay for the game twice, as you can play it via your primary account or your NZ account, thanks to game share.

If you haven’t got your hands on a PlayStation 5 yet, now might be the perfect time with the God of War PS5 bundle.

What Time Does God of War Ragnarok Release in New Zealand & Countdown

God of War Ragnarok releases on November 9, 2022, at 12 AM NZST. This will be 5 AM PT / 8 AM ET / 12 PM GMT on November 8, 2022.

Those who live in New Zealand or are changing their location to play the game early will be happy to know that God of War Ragnarok releases for New Zealand in .

Before you start playing God of War Ragnarok, it might be good to find out the story of God of War so far, and get yourself refreshed before the latest game!

Share your thoughts, or ask a question:
Comments 0

Recommended