Fortnite is moving into Chapter 5 Season 1 – here’s everything you need to know from the season’s start date & time to when downtime will end.

We’re sad to say goodbye to Fortnite OG but all good things must come to an end eventually! Now, as Fortnite prepares to deal with the aftermath of its Big Bang event, we’re making the jump to Chapter 5 Season 1: Underground.

And this has the potential to be the Battle Royale’s biggest season yet.

Chapter 5 Start Date & Time

Fortnite Chapter 5 will kick off on December 3, 2023, following a downtime after The Big Bang live event comes to an end.

Fortnite came back online with Chapter 5 at around 5:30 AM PT / 8:30 AM ET / 1:30 PM GMT.

Fortnite Servers Are LIVE!
Fortnite The Big Bang Event

Countdown to Chapter 5 Season 1

Fortnite Chapter 5 Season 1 is now live!

SeasonDowntime Conclusion
Chapter 4 Season 24:30 AM PT / 7:30 AM ET / 12:30 PM GMT
Chapter 4 Season 34:00 AM PT / 7:00 AM ET / 12:00 PM GMT
Chapter 4 Season 45:00 AM PT / 8:00 AM ET / 1:00 PM GMT
Fortnite OG6:00 AM PT / 9:00 AM ET / 2:00 PM GMT

It’s worth noting that sometimes Epic Games’ Battle Royale takes a little extra time to come back online when moving to a new Chapter.

Eminem During the Big Bang Fortnite Live Event

Previous Downtimes Between Chapters

We’ve compiled a list of the previous unplayable periods of Fortnite history, focusing on those between Chapters.

As we can see, it appears that Fortnite is shortening the amount of time that it remains in downtime, cutting it in half each time!

EventSeasonDowntime
The BlackoutEnd of Chapter 136 Hours
Drift to ArtemisEnd of Chapter 218 Hours
Stare At AsteriaEnd of Chapter 39 Hours
To Be Continued!End of Chapter 4Unknown

We don’t expect the Chapter 4 downtime to be just 4.5 hours long, but we think this does show that the server offline period won’t be as long as it was back in the game’s early days.

Of course, all the way back in 2019, The Blackout had everyone talking about Fortnite, which was unplayable for the first time ever.

It’s entirely possible that Epic Games will choose to pull something similar this time around, particularly as we did just return to Chapter 1!

But when we get to Chapter 5 Season 1 at long last, it looks like Family Guy’s Peter Griffin and a massive LEGO collab will be waiting for us!

author
Managing Editor
Max has a wealth of experience in the industry and is a lover of all things video games, situated in Manchester, United Kingdom.
Chapter 5 Season 1
95.60241%
4d : 5h : 10m : 41s