Diablo 4 lets players change the difficulty by switching World Tiers. This helpful system allows newcomers to slay demons easily, and veterans test their mettle against Sanctuary’s most formidable foes!

Fortunately, if you find the game too easy (or hard), then there’s an effortless way to change it. Here’s everything you need to know about World Tiers and changing difficulty in Diablo 4!

All Diablo 4 World Tiers

There are four World Tiers in Diablo 4. They are:

Each World Tier increases the overall difficulty of enemies incrementally while also offering more Experience and Gold per enemy killed.

The higher the World Tier, the harder the enemies you face will be, but the greater the reward.

Typically, newcomers to the Diablo franchise will want to remain on World Tier 1 until they become comfortable with the game. More experienced players will want to pick World Tier 2.

Once you reach the endgame content, you will want to switch to World Tier 3 or 4, depending on how challenging you want Diablo 4 to be.

the player fighting a boss in Diablo 4

Diablo 4 World Tiers Explained

Here are all the differences between each world tier:

Diablo 4 World Tier 1 – Adventurer

Recommended For:

  • Players who are new to Diablo or want a light challenge
  • Levels 1 – 50

Enemy Changes:

  • Enemies are easy to defeat
Diablo 4's World Tier 1 description

Diablo 4 World Tier 2 – Veteran

Recommended For:

  • Players who desire more challenge
  • Levels 1 – 50

Enemy Changes:

  • Enemies are more challenging
  • Monsters give 20% increased Experience
  • Monsters drop 15% more Gold
Diablo 4's World Tier 2 description

Diablo 4 World Tier 3 – Nightmare

Unlocked by completing the Campaign and Catherdral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Kyovashad on World Tier 2: Veteran.

Recommended For:

  • Levels 50 – 70


  • Sacred items and Unique items
  • Nightmare Sigils that unseal Nightmare Dungeons
  • Helltides
  • Champion monsters with damage resistance auras

Enemy Changes:

  • Enemies are more formidable
  • Monsters give 100% increased Experience
  • Monsters drop 15% more Gold
  • Monsters overcome 20% Resistance
Diablo 4's World Tier 3 description

Diablo 4 World Tier 4 – Torment

Unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in northeastern Dry Steppes on World Tier 3: Nightmare.

Recommended For:

  • Level 70+


  • Ancestral items and new Unique items

Enemy Changes:

  • Enemies are more fearsome
  • Monsters give 200% increased Experience
  • Monsters drop 15% more Gold
  • Monsters overcome 40% Resistance
Diablo 4's World Tier 4 description

How to Switch Your World Tier Difficulty in Diablo 4

You can switch your World Tier difficulty at World Tier Statues in towns and cities in Diablo 4, such as the starting city Kyovashad.

Simply go up to the Statue and interact with it. Then, just select from the four available World Tiers which one you wish to change to.

The World Tier Statues are easily identifiable as they look like the Angel Inarius holding a spear in the air. You can also find them on the mini-map as a wheel icon (see below).

The World Tier Statue in Diablo 4

It’s worth noting that unlocking the city’s waypoint will make returning to these World Tier Statues as painless as possible. So, make sure you unlock them as soon as you arrive in a city, as it doesn’t do it automatically for you.

You can also change World Tier difficulty from the character selection menu accessible by either selecting Leave Game from the main menu or restarting Diablo 4 entirely.

Just click on Change World Tier on the righthand side of the screen and select which World Tier you want to switch to.

the world tier selection button in the main menu of Diablo 4
Former Staff Writer
Whether it's an indie platformer or a 100-hour JRPG, Tom loves talking about games. So much so, he made it his career. Since starting in 2020, he's covered a wide range of topics at sites including TheGamer and The Game Crater.
Season 2 Progress
0d : 0h : 0m : 0s