Diablo 4 is a grind, but the Urn of Experience, also known as the Urn of Aggression, helps players earn more XP to level up their character much more quickly in order to reach the endgame faster.

It may sound like an item you need to find, but any player that has made a Seasonal Character can actually take advantage of the Urn of Experience and use it to increase the rate of their XP gain.

However, it will require players to use Smoldering Ashes, a type of material that you will only receive from the Diablo 4 Battle Pass. Since there are five other urns that you may use this currency on, you need to know what the Urn of Aggression is and if it’s worth it.

How to Use Urn of Experience in Diablo 4

To use the Urn of Experience, actually called Urn of Aggression in-game, you’ll need to gather Smoldering Ashes from the Seasonal Battle Pass and use them to activate the Urn of Aggression XP Bonus.

Although, you can only do this with a character that you have created in the Seasonal Realm.

The first thing you want to do is gather up Smoldering Ashes. Smoldering Ashes are a type of material that is unique to the Seasonal Battle Pass in Diablo 4. It functions as a sort of currency that can purchase passive boosts in the form of Urns.

Urn of Experience Diablo 4

You need one Smoldering Ashes in order to reach the first level of the Urn of Aggression and obtain a 3% boost of XP from monster kills. If you use 4 Smoldering Ashes to reach Level 4, then you will get a grand total of 8% XP.

This can be combined with the 5% extra experience gain from Elixirs, and Mother’s Blessing, a 25% XP Boost that Blizzard gives out during Bonus XP Weekends in Diablo 4.

Players can only get a total of 20 Smoldering Ashes from the Battle Pass. You will get them by progressing through the Battle Pass and reaching the following tiers:

  • 8
  • 18
  • 22
  • 28
  • 32
  • 38
  • 48
  • 52
  • 58
  • 62
  • 68
  • 72
  • 77
  • 82
  • 88

This means that to actually get the Urn of Experience to Level 1, you’ll need to reach Battle Pass Tier 8. However, tiers also have level requirements. To get the Battle Pass Tier 8 reward, you need to be Level 40.

Essentially, players will need to do the following in order to activate the Urn of Aggression:

  1. Create a Seasonal Character in the Seasonal Realm.
  2. Reach Battle Pass Tier 8.
  3. Reach Level 40.
  4. Use 1 Smoldering Ashes on Urn of Aggression.

It seems like a lot of work for only a 3% XP rate increase, especially when you consider that any Elixir will automatically give players a 5% XP rate increase while they are active.

What Is the Urn of Experience?

The Urn of Experience is actually called the Urn of Aggression in Diablo 4 and gives players a passive boost to XP from monster kills.

  • 3% XP Boost at Level 1
  • 5% XP Boost at Level 2
  • 6% XP Boost at Level 3
  • 8% XP Boost at Level 4

It will require players to use 4 Smoldering Ashes in order to reach level 4. By the time you obtain 4 Smoldering Ashes, you’ll be Level 62.

The Urn of Experience seems like a great boost, but some players have actually gone on to test it and have realized that its effects aren’t as great as they could be.

However, if you’re trying to reach that Level 100 cap before Season of Blood is here, then it’s worth giving it a shot yourself to see if it gives you any noticeable effects to grinding.