Each available class in Diablo 4 has its own unique mechanic that increases the power and potency of its exclusive abilities.

Sorcerers and Druids get access to powerful passive bonuses, while the more melee-inclined will be happy to make use of the Barbarian’s increased arsenal and the Rogue’s combo abilities.

These unique class features are unlocked by completing quests that introduce you to them. We cover everything you need to know about each unique class mechanic and how to access them.

What are Unique Class Mechanics in Diablo 4?

All five classes in Diablo 4 have a unique class mechanic that grants access to exclusive bonuses and powerful offensive and defensive upgrades.

It grants even more player choice when it comes to your build variety and is something to consider when choosing which class to play at the start of the game.

Diablo 4 co-op

Here’s a brief overview of the unique feature tied to each class:

  • Barbarian: Arsenal and Technique Slot – the ability to equip four weapons at once and can apply a specific weapon passive to all attacks
  • Druid: Spirit Boons – powerful passive bonuses that are tied to one of four assigned Spirits
  • Necromancer: Book of the Dead – allows you to upgrade and customize the skills and perks of your summoned minions
  • Rogue: Specializations – choose between three distinct playstyles
  • Sorcerer: Enchantment Slots – slot any unlocked skill into an Enchantment Slot, granting powerful passive effects

How to Unlock Each Class Mechanic in Diablo 4

Diablo 4’s unique class mechanics are usually unlocked by reaching a certain level and completing class-specific quests. You cannot access them straight out of the gate.

Though slightly different for each class, you will generally access each core class ability when you reach level 15. At this point, a class-specific Priority Quest will open up to you – completing it will grant you access to the class mechanic.

The Priority Quest will appear as a ‘white cross’ icon on the map.

Highlighting the 'Sorcerer: Legacy of the Magi' Map Marker and Priority Quest in the Journal tab of Diablo 4's map screen
Credit: Coolpedia

Below are details of each class’s unique mechanics and their unlock requirements:

  • Barbarian:
    • Arsenal – Unlocks automatically at level 5
    • Technique Slot – Tied to the ‘Masters of Battle‘ Priority Quest, which is available at level 15
  • Druid:
    • Spirit Boons – Tied to the ‘Spirits of the Lost Grove‘ Priority Quest, which is available at level 15
  • Necromancer:
    • Book of the Dead – Unlocks automatically at level 5
    • Golem Summoning – Tied to the ‘Call of the Underworld‘ Priority Quest, which is available at level 15
  • Rogue:
    • Combo Points – Tied to the ‘True Potential‘ Priority Quest, which is available at level 15
    • Inner Sight – Unlocks automatically at level 20
    • Preparation – Unlocks automatically at level 30
  • Sorcerer:
    • First Enchantment Slot – Tied to the ‘Legacy of the Magi‘ Priority Quest, which is available at level 15
    • Second Enchantment Slot – Unlocks automatically at level 30

Barbarian Class Mechanic – Arsenal and Technique Slot

After reaching level 5, Barbarians will immediately unlock the Arsenal ability, allowing you to equip up to four weapons at once. You can simultaneously wield a main-hand, off-hand, two-handed slash type, and two-handed bludgeon type weapon.

Wide shot of Diablo 4's male and female Barbarian

Each of these weapons can be assigned to a certain skill and will automatically swap out to that weapon when you use that skill. Skills will scale off of the damage of the weapon it is linked to and will also come with a passive bonus when assigned.

It is a fantastic way of adding versatility to your build.

Technique Slots unlock at level 15 after completing the ‘Masters of Battle‘ Priority Quest and add even further build variety and experimentation. They grant you the ability to add a passive bonus to all weapons and is a brilliant way to add more power to your character.

Druid Class Mechanic – Spirit Boons

As the animal lovers of Sanctuary, Druids have the unique ability to gain powerful Spirit Boons by giving Spirit Offerings to Spirit animals. You gain access to them after completing the ‘Spirits of the Lost Grove‘ Priority Quest at level 15.

Wide shot of Diablo 4's male and female Druid

There are four Spirit animals to give offerings to – each granting different passive effects:

  • Deer: Boons with defensive effects
  • Eagle: Boons with offensive effects
  • Snake: Boons that add buffs to elemental skills
  • Wolf: Boons that add buffs to conditional skills and your ultimate ability

Each boon will cost a certain number of Spirit Offerings to unlock, which can be picked up from defeated enemies.

Necromancer Class Mechanic – Book of the Dead

Necromancers get to build a party of undead minions to follow them around and do their bidding. After automatically unlocking the Book of the Dead at level 5, you can use it to augment the skills and abilities of your undead army.

Wide shot of Diablo 4's male and female Necromancer

The Book of the Dead allows you to summon and customize three types of undead minions:

  • Skeletal Warriors – close-range melee attacks
  • Skeletal Mages – ranged magic attacks
  • Golems – huge powerful and tanky monsters

Initially, you can only raise Skeletal Warriors or Mages, until you complete the ‘Call of the Underworld‘ Priority Quest at level 15. This will grant you access to Golems.

Each minion type can be specialized in three ways and each specialization has a corresponding upgrade path. It allows lots of freedom in how you mix and match your build.

You can also sacrifice any summoned minion to buff your character if you prefer to fly solo.

Rogue Class Mechanic – Specializations

Wide shot of Diablo 4's male and female Rogue

If you like versatility, the Rogue class seems like a pretty safe bet. Its class ability grants unique passive bonuses that allow you to pick a playstyle that suits you, with three interesting options:

  • Combo Point:
    • Using Basic Skills generates one Combo Point, up to a maximum of three. Use a core Skill to spend them to unleash a powerful attack. Unlocked the ‘True Potential‘ Priority Quest at level 15.
  • Inner Sight:
    • Mark a random enemy in a group of enemies. Eliminating the marked enemy will fill your ‘Inner Sight’ gauge. Once filled, you gain unlimited energy for 4 seconds. Unlocked at level 20.
  • Preparation:
    • Reduces the cooldown of your Ultimate Skill by 4 seconds every time you spend 100 energy. Using your Ultimate Skill reduces the cooldown of all your other skills. Unlocked at level 30.

You can switch to any of the Specializations at any time, allowing you to change up your gameplay on the fly.

Sorcerer Class Mechanic – Enchantment Slots

Last but by far not least are Sorcerers. Their unique feature allows them to assign already unlocked skills to open Enchantment Slots.

Wide shot of Diablo 4's male and female Barbarian

These grant very powerful passive effects, different to the original skill it came from. You may equip the same skill on your action bar and in one Enchantment Slot at the same time.

You unlock your first Enchantment Slot at level 15 after completing the ‘Legacy of the Magi‘ Priority Quest. The second unlocks automatically at level 30.

As you can imagine, having two free Enchantment Slots to play around with has huge potential in build variety, granting you an array of powerful offensive and defensive passive abilities.

Staff Writer
Passionate gamer and writer, Alpay has been featured on GamingIntel, Stuff.tv, and TheGamer. When not writing, he delves into virtual worlds, enjoys high-concept TV shows, and splurges on Steam sales.
Season 2 Progress
0d : 0h : 0m : 0s