Diablo 4’s Season of the Malignant brings with it a whole host of new content, including an entirely new Questline for Season 1.

This is a brand new storyline completely separate from Diablo 4’s base game Campaign. It involves the investigation of a devastating new corruption, the Malignance, that has spread across Sanctuary.

As well as introducing you to a new story in Diablo 4, the Questline will also guide you through Season 1’s new features, gameplay mechanics, and Season Journey.

Diablo 4 Season of the Malignant logo in front of Season 1 art

All Season 1 Quests in Diablo 4

There are a total of nine Quests in Diablo 4 Season 1. They are:

  1. Burning From Within
  2. A Plague of Hatred
  3. Holding Back the Flood
  4. Answers in the Ashes
  5. A Prayer for Salvation
  6. Hope’s Guardian
  7. Ruins of the Faith
  8. The Cold Hard Truth
  9. A Merciful Fate

You will quickly meet Cormond, a central character in Season 1’s storyline, in the Fractured Peaks.

Soon, you will follow his objectives and be introduced to important Season 1 features. These include Malignant Hearts, Malignant Tunnels, crafting Invokers at Cormond’s Workbench, and learning how to progress through the Season Journey.

It’s important to note that Quest 3, “Holding Back the Flood” and Quest 6, “Hope’s Guardian” require you to complete certain Chapters in the Season Journey to progress the Season 1 Questline.

To complete Chapters within the Season Journey, you must complete a certain number of objectives within that Chapter. For instance, you only need to complete 9 out of 11 objectives for Chapter 1.

The Season Journey Objectives list in Diablo 4

“Holding Back the Flood” requires you to complete Chapters 1 and 2 of the Season Journey to move forward. Check out our complete guide on how to complete “Holding Back the Flood” in Diablo 4.

The Holding Back the Flood quest log in Diablo 4

Similarly, “Hope’s Guardian” requires you to complete Chapter 3 of the Season Journey to progress to the next Quest.

Hope's Guardian Quest Objective in Diablo 4 Season 1
Credit: Iczel Gaming

Season 1 Questline Rewards

After completing the Diablo 4 Season 1 Questline, you are rewarded with the Invoker of Varshan recipe after speaking with Cormond. You can use this to summon the Echo of Varshan as a way of farming powerful Malignant Hearts.

To complete the Season of the Malignant Questline, you must head to Cormond’s wagon outside of Velkhova after defeating Varshan the Consumed for the first time.

Cormond Diablo 4 The Cold Hard Truth Quest
Source: Iczel Gaming

After talking to Cormond, you will complete the final Quest, “A Merciful Fate” and are rewarded with the following:

  • Varshan Modest Effects cache
    • After opening you’ll receive the Invoker of Varshan Recipe, as well as some Jewelry and some Malignant Ichor
    • After ‘using’ the recipe, you are free to craft the Invoker of Varshan at Cormond’s Workbench
  • The ‘Malignant, Purifier’ player titles after completing the “Cormond’s Ally” challenge after finishing the Season 1 Questline
Invoker of Varshan Diablo 4

What to Do After Completing Diablo 4 Season 1 Questline

There’s still plenty to do after completing the Diablo 4 Season 1 Questline. They include:

  • Progress through and complete the Battle Pass
  • Complete the Season Journey for Season 1
    • For this, you’ll need to complete every Chapter Objective for each Season Chapter
  • Summon the Echo of Varshan by using the Invoker of Varshan and fight him in higher World Tiers
    • For World Tier 3 you’ll need the Foul Invoker of Varshan
    • For World Tier 4 you’ll need the Tormented Invoker of Varshan
  • Farm Brutal, Devious, Vicious, and Wrathful Malignant Hearts
  • Reach level 100
Diablo 4 Season 1

Diablo 4’s Season 1 will last for three months until October 17, 2023, so there’s plenty of time to complete everything and make the most of it!

Staff Writer
Passionate gamer and writer, Alpay has been featured on GamingIntel, Stuff.tv, and TheGamer. When not writing, he delves into virtual worlds, enjoys high-concept TV shows, and splurges on Steam sales.
Season 2 Progress
0d : 0h : 0m : 0s