Diablo 4 lets you choose from a number of excellent classes, each one offering an entirely unique playstyle. So, it’s no wonder that picking your starting class in Diablo 4 can be a bit overwhelming.

Fortunately, we’ve narrowed down the best class for beginners and newcomers to pick and try.

What Is the Best Starting Class in Diablo 4?

The best starting class to choose in Diablo 4 is the Barbarian. Its focus on physical attacks and brute strength makes learning it easy, especially if you’re unfamiliar with the Diablo series.

However, choose the Druid or Rogue if you’re more interested in playing as a balanced class. Both can cater to ranged and melee-focused playstyles.

Don’t worry too much about picking the perfect class, as you can create up to ten characters. If you want to, you can test out each of the five classes twice.

Keep reading to learn about each of the classes in Diablo 4, so you can see which is best suited for you.

All Classes in Diablo 4


The Barbarian is a melee-focused class that can equip up to four different weapons, each with its own designated skills, thanks to its unique Arsenal System.

It is perfect for players who prefer getting up close and personal with enemies, taking on the brunt of the damage while using their array of deadly skills to wipe out their enemies.

You should check out the ultimate Barbarian build, which will see you easily slice through hordes of demons, allowing you to collect all the Legendary loot they drop.

The Barbarian class in Diablo 4

The Barbarian’s skills include:

  • Frenzy
  • War Cry
  • Lunging Strike
  • Hammer of the Ancients
  • Whirlwind

The Barbarian’s Ultimate abilities are:

  • Call of the Ancients
    • Summons three Ancients to help them in battle.
  • Iron Maelstrom
    • It can be activated three times, each time attaching a chain to a different weapon and causing a deadly AOE attack.
  • Wrath of the Berserker
    • Turns them into a giant with increased damage and movement speed.


The Rogue specializes in ranged and melee attacks, capable of combing the two to create deadly combos that can enhance their powerful abilities.

Despite the Rogue’s weaker defense, it acts as a strong and balanced class capable of simultaneously wiping out dozens of enemies with its impressive ultimate abilities.

The Rogue class can also imbue their weapons with afflictions such as Shadow, Chill, and Poison. These afflictions will then deal additional damage, allowing you to turn the tide in your favor.

The Rogue class in Diablo 4

The Rogue’s Ultimate abilities are:

  • Death Trap
    • A deadly trap that deals AOE damage.
  • Rain of Arrows 
    • Fires waves of arrows that target a large area.
  • Shadow Clone
    • Create a Shadow Clone that mimics your actions.


The Sorcerer class utilizes ranged elemental attacks that can morph the battlefield, deal incredible AOE damage, and clear out crowds of enemies.

However, their defense is relatively low, making them susceptible to incoming attacks, and they’re not really capable of dealing effective melee damage. So, there’s a lot of risk in using this class, especially if you’re playing solo.

Make sure to check out the ultimate Sorcerer build, so you can unleash devastating Lightning attacks to deal massive AOE damage and defeat any enemies in your way.

The Sorcerer class in Diablo 4

The Sorcerer class can use the following types of magic:

  • Fire Magic
    • It can inflict burning on enemies, which deals damage over time.
  • Cold Magic
    • It can chill enemies, which slows them down. It can also freeze enemies completely.
  • Lightning Magic
    • It can leave behind balls of energy that can be collected to replenish mana or used to damage enemies.

The Sorcerer has the unique Enchantment ability, which allows the player to place skills in Enchantment slots. These skills can no longer be used but instead, grant the player a passive bonus.

For example, if you place the Fireball spell into an Enchantment slot, you won’t be able to cast it anymore, but any enemies you kill will explode, causing damage to nearby foes.

The Sorcerer’s Ultimate abilities are:

  • Deep Freeze
    • Makes you temporarily invulnerable while freezing enemies around you.
  • Inferno
    • Spreads fire around you that causes damage to enemies within it.
  • Unstable Currents 
    • For 10 seconds, any Shock spells you cast will activate a random Core, Conjuration, or Mastery Shock skill.


The Druid class is a mix between the Sorcerer and the Barbarian. It can shapeshift into werewolves and bears to deal deadly melee-focused abilities and cast Earth, Wind, and Lightning-based magic.

Additionally, the Druid class can summon animals and nature to help fight by their side, including wolves, ravens, and even vines.

The Druid class doesn’t have specific skills dedicated to shapeshifting. Instead, when you activate a werewolf or bear skill, you will automatically transform into them for a limited time.

You can create combos of your shapeshifting abilities, switching in and out of bear and werewolf form at rapid speeds, allowing you to cause incredible amounts of damage.

The Druid class in Diablo 4

The Druid’s Ultimate abilities are:

  • Cataclysm 
    • Summon a massive storm that follows you and deals AOE damage.
  • Lacerate 
    • Turn into a werewolf and dash between enemies dealing up to 133 damage.
  • Grizzly Rage
    • Turn into a Dire Werebear and gain 20% bonus damage and 20% damage reduction.
  • Petrify
    •  You deal 25% increased critical strike damage to enemies affected by this skill.


The Necromancer can summon the dead to help fight by their side and cast the Dark Arts to deal damage to enemies. While not as strong as the Druid or Barbarian, they’re also capable of deadly melee attacks.

The Necromancer can summon three different types of undead creatures:

  • Skeletal Warriors
  • Skeletal Mages
  • Golems
The Necromancer class in Diablo 4

The Necromancer can customize their undead companions through its unique class mechanic, The Book of the Dead.

This allows them to alter the stats of the dead that they summon. For example, you could increase a Skeletal Warrior’s HP at the cost of its overall attack power.

Former Staff Writer
Whether it's an indie platformer or a 100-hour JRPG, Tom loves talking about games. So much so, he made it his career. Since starting in 2020, he's covered a wide range of topics at sites including TheGamer and The Game Crater.
Season 2 Progress
0d : 0h : 0m : 0s