Skip to Content

Mastering Book of the Dead in Diablo 4: Necromancer Guide

Unleash the power of hell with the Book of the Dead.

Embrace the darkness as we delve into Diablo 4’s Necromancer Class and its unique skill, Book of the Dead, to wield the power of the undead.

The Necromancer class is all about using the undead bodies of your foes to your advantage. The more you lay waste, the stronger you become.

What is the Book of the Dead?

The Book of the Dead is the Necromancer’s Unique Class Mechanic, allowing players to customize their undead army in more ways than ever.

This Book of the Dead mechanic is split up into three different customizable undead minions:

But this is only a small part of the Necromancer’s complete skill list and doesn’t scratch the surface of what this warrior of the undead can do.

Necromancer Book of the dead Summons

In this guide, we will explain each component of the Book of the Dead to help players identify which abilities will suit their build the best.

Where to Unlock Book of the Dead in Diablo 4

Players are given the Book of the Dead skill when entering Sanctuary. But are unable to modify it until they reach Level 5.

Once you reach Level 5, the Book of the Dead is added as a tab to your character menu.

Necromancer Book of the Dead Tab

How Does the Book of the Dead Work

The Book of the Dead is a new Necromancer class mechanic that allows players to customize three summons to help them unleash chaos through Sanctuary.

This mechanic builds upon the skills some players may already know from Diablo 3 and adds a new layer of depth.

Each summons offers three different customizations that players can choose from. This allows the player to cater the playstyle of the summon to their own build.

For example, players can modify their Skeletal Warriors to specialize as Skirmishers, Defenders, or Reapers.

  • Skirmishers have increased damage and reduced health.
  • Defenders have bonus health.
  • Reapers have slower attacks but deal damage in an AoE (area of effect) and have a special high-damage attack.

In addition to this, players can also apply unique upgrades to each specialization to add an even deeper layer to how much their playstyles can change.

This way, Necromancers can synergize with their undead summons in ways the Diablo franchise has never seen.

If you dislike one of the summonses, the Necromancer can also sacrifice them to gain a permanent buff.

To sacrifice a summon, highlight the “Sacrifice” option to the right of the upgrades.

Players can also find items around the world that can help boost the ability of their summons. To level up your character correctly, look at the best tips to dominate Sanctuary in Diablo 4.

All Book of the Dead Upgrades & Sacrifices

To apply an upgrade to your summons, highlight the Upgrade or Sacrifice in the Book of the Dead that you wish to activate and interact with it.

Necromancer Book of the Dead Upgrades

Skeletal Warriors

  • Skirmishers – Agile skeletons with quick attacks, increase damage, but reduce life.
    • Upgrade 1 – You can raise one additional Skirmisher Warrior.
    • Upgrade 2 – Each time you Critically Strike, your Skirmishers Warriors’ next attack Critically Strikes and deals 50% bonus Critical Strike damage. It can only happen every 3 seconds.
    • Sacrifice Buff – Your Critical Strike Chance is increased by 5%, but you can no longer raise Skeletal Warriors.
  • Defenders – Tanky skeletons with bonus life.
    • Upgrade 1 – Defenders negate the next instance of direct damage they are dealt for 8 seconds.
    • Upgrade 2 – Defenders increase the number of thorns they inherit from your character to 50%
    • Sacrifice Buff – You gain 15% Non-Physical Resistance but you can no longer raise Skeletal Warriors.
  • Reapers – Skeletons with scythes that deal AoE damage and have a powerful special attack.
    • Upgrade 1 – Reduces the cooldown of their powerful wind-up attack by 2 seconds when they attack immobilized, Slowed, Stunned, or Vulnerable enemies.
    • Upgrade 2 – Reapers have a 10% chance to form a corpse from the flesh of their enemies. This effect only occurs every 5 seconds.
    • Sacrifice Buff – You deal 10% increased Shadow Damage, but you can no longer raise Skeletal Warriors.

Skeletal Mages

  • Shadow – Mages that use Shadow Bolts to damage enemies.
    • Upgrade 1 – When your Shadow Skeletal Mages attack, they have a 10% chance to Stun for 2.13 seconds. This can only happen every 5 seconds on the same enemy.
    • Upgrade 2 – For every 6th attack, your Shadow Mage will fire an additional shadow bolt.
    • Sacrifice Buff – Your maximum essence is increased by 15, but you can no longer summon Mages.
  • Cold – Mages that use frost to damage and freeze enemies.
    • Upgrade 1 – Players gain x2 essence each time your Cold Mage damages enemies with their primary attack.
    • Upgrade 2 – Enemies your Cold Mages freeze or damage while frozen will be Vulnerable for 3 seconds.
    • Sacrifice Buff – You deal 15% more damage to Vulnerable enemies, but you can no longer raise Mages.
  • Bone – Mages that use their own life force to deal damage.
    • Upgrade 1 – Your Bone Mage attacks will gain a reduction to their life cost by 5%. Any Bone Mage alive for 5 seconds will deal 40% increased damage.
    • Upgrade 2 – Any time a Bone Mage dies from its own attack, it will leave a corpse behind and Fortify you.
    • Sacrifice Buff – Your Overpower damage is increased by 30%, but you can no longer raise Mages.


  • Bone Golems – Bone-armored Golems that can tank hits.
    • Upgrade 1 – Your Bone Golem sheds a corpse every time it takes up to 20% of its max life as damage.
    • Upgrade 2 – Increases your Golem’s maximum life by 10% and the number of thorns they inherit from you by 50%.
    • Sacrifice Buff – You gain 10% attack speed, but you lose your Golem.
  • Blood Golems – Golems that use bleeding attacks to steal health from enemies.
    • Upgrade 1 – Your Golem will absorb 15% of the damage you would take.
    • Upgrade 2 – While healthy, your golem will gain a 25% damage reduction, and 25% increased damage.
    • Sacrifice Buff – Your maximum life is increased by 10%, but you lose your Golem.
  • Iron Golems – Powerful Golems that use charge attacks to clear large groups of enemies.
    • Upgrade 1 – Every 5th Golem attack will send a shockwave, dealing 16% damage to the enemies in front of them.
    • Upgrade 2 – Your Golem Slam makes enemies Vulnerable for 3 seconds.
    • Sacrifice Buff – You deal 30% more critical-strike damage, but you lose your Golem.

Here’s how to unlock Golems in Diablo 4 to upgrade your Necromancer class!

Share your thoughts, or ask a question: