Here’s a breakdown of all of the weapons Kratos can use on his journey in God of War Ragnarok!

Kratos, the God of War, needs some weapons to use in battle, and Ragnarok has increased the number in his arsenal.

In addition to returning weapons from God of War 2018, Kratos has a new one to battle Gods and monsters with!

Every Weapon in God of War Ragnarok

Kratos will get 3 different weapons to use throughout the main story in God of War Ragnarok. They are:

  • Leviathan Axe
  • Blades of Chaos
  • Draupnir Spear

Each of these weapons has its own strengths and weaknesses and players should swap between them depending on the type and number of enemies.

It is also important to upgrade each of the weapons in the game, no matter which one is your favorite – you never know when you’ll need to use each of them!

Read More: 12 Tips Before You Start God of War Ragnarok

God of War Ragnarok Alligator Enemy

Leviathan Axe

The Leviathan Axe is the first weapon that players get in God of War Ragnarok. It does loads of damage and builds up Frost – a status effect that slows down enemies.

It hits very hard in close combat and when thrown using L2 to aim and R2 to throw.

However, The Leviathan Axe’s most useful ability is that it can damage enemies when you recall it using the triangle button after throwing it. This helps it be the most versatile weapon out of the 3 Kratos can wield.

Leviathan Axe upgrade screen in God of War Ragnarok

Leviathan Axe Stats & Upgrades

At level 1, the Leviathan Axe starts with 10 Strength. With each upgrade, its Strength increases by 15, up to a maximum of 130.

Players can use Frozen Flames to upgrade the Leviathan Axe up to level 9. It costs 1 Frozen Flame for Each upgrade.

Upgrade Level Stats
Level 110 Strength
Level 225 Strength
Level 340 Strength
Level 455 Strength
Level 570 Strength
Level 685 Strength
Level 7100 Strength
Level 8115 Strength
Level 9130 Strength

Here’s where to find Frozen Flames to upgrade the Leviathan Axe so you can make the weapon as powerful as possible!

Blades of Chaos

The Blades of Chaos are Kratos’ iconic swords and have appeared in every game in the God of War series so far. Players get the Blades of Chaos during the first mission of the story.

This weapon is best used to take down large groups of enemies, as the attacks hit a larger area than the other weapons.

Hitting enemies with the Blades of Chaos builds up the Burn status effect which deals damage over time. Additionally, you’ll need to use this weapon to damage frosted enemies, who resist the Leviathan Axe.

Check out our Blades of Chaos guide for more tips on how to use this weapon!

Blades of Chaos God of War Ragnarok

Blades of Chaos Stats & Upgrades

When you get the Blades of Chaos, the weapon is at level 1 and has 10 Runic. You can upgrade the Blades of Chaos to increase its Runic by 15 at each level, up to a maximum of 130.

Chaos Flames are used to level up the Blades of Chaos, with it costing one Chaos Flame per upgrade.

Upgrade Level Stats
Level 110 Runic
Level 225 Runic
Level 340 Runic
Level 455 Runic
Level 570 Runic
Level 685 Runic
Level 7100 Runic
Level 8115 Runic
Level 9130 Runic

Draupnir Spear

The Draupnir Spear is a new weapon for God of War Ragnarok that makes use of the Wind element. It is the final weapon that players will unlock in the game’s storyline.

You can use the Draupnir Spear for close combat but it is best for throwing at enemies.

After throwing it, you can detonate one or multiple spears by pressing the triangle button.

Here’s how to unlock the Draupnir Spear in God of War: Ragnarok!

Additionally, the Draupnir Spear is probably the most balanced weapon of the three. It provides a good mid-ground between the raw damage of the Leviathan Axe and the area of effect attacks of the Blades of Chaos.

Draupnir Spear God of War Ragnarok

Draupnir Spear Stats & Upgrades

When you receive the Draupnir Spear, it is already Level 5 and gives you 10 Luck. Every upgrade for the Draupnir Spear increases this luck by 10, up to a maximum of 50!

You can use a Gale Flame to upgrade the Draupnir Spear by 1 level. The maximum level for this weapon is 9.

Upgrade Level Stats
Level 510 Luck
Level 620 Luck
Level 730 Luck
Level 840 Luck
Level 950 Luck

Of course, Atreus also has his bow, which you can make the most of by pressing square while you are mid-battle as Kratos. But can you play as Atreus in God of War Ragnarok too?

Senior Staff Writer
Django grew up with a PlayStation controller in his hands and loves all kinds of games, from Football Manager to Yakuza.